Know the Law

Illinois DUI Laws

  • Illinois imposes an “implied consent” law.
  • Under this provision, any driver suspected of DUI must submit to some form of chemical test, which may include testing of blood, urine or breath.
  • The penalty for refusing to comply with the requirement may include, but is not limited to, mandatory suspension of your driver’s license; this suspension could range from six months to a year.
  • It is illegal to provide alcohol to any individual under the age of 21. If you violate this requirement, you may face a fine of up to $2,500 and a one-year prison sentence.
  • Illinois law prohibits you from having an open container of alcohol in the passenger area of your vehicle. Similarly, you may not drink an alcoholic beverage in your vehicle.
  • If you violate this requirement, you may face a fine of up to $1,000, and a point-assigned violation could be entered on your driving record.
  • This provision does not prohibit the transportation of unopened containers of alcoholic beverages. If you are convicted of illegal transportation of an alcoholic beverage for a second time, your driver’s license may be suspended.
  • If you knowingly allow a person under the influence to operate a vehicle in the state, you may face a fine of up to $2,500 and a jail sentence of one year.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: